Superficial

We,us and ours

I spent more than half of my day contemplating, absorbed and lost in the realms of beauty where happiness blooms lonely.Most thoughts are either imaginary and melded with fantasy that dissipates in the nadir of overwhelming fancies and some are just the fragments or the remnants of past which are exclusively unornamented.

I don’t think this is a pertinent introduction to what I am about to write.But,certainly the picture above speaks itself.It was clicked in my school back in class VIII then, experiencing the first thrills of early adolescence.

Here goes the bunch of ruffians with whom I burgeoned.Limpid madness, pretty shenanigans,wily tomfoolery dominated the air.More commonly known as”Bhombolazzz”(the official name of the group),we had been the heart-throbs.Now, there’s a funny association attached to the group’s name-the word ‘bhombol’ in Bengali means ‘nincompoop’ and we were in a humor to add a Tamil twist to it just to imitate the Malayalam accent of our Physics teacher.I know this seems absolutely ridiculous but then it was a super amusement for us.Weren’t we mischievous?

I laugh with moist eyes when I reminisce all these memories.But only my laughter echoes within the four walls and my shadow often mocks at my solitariness.I wanted us to be knitted together,I wanted us to age together,I never wanted us to be a part of each other’s memorabilia.Why couldn’t we remain the same? When was the irascibility, chronic dissatisfaction and displeasure born within us?Why did we all grow up so fast so as to become evanescent with time? When had the ego seasoned itself to vanquish love?How would I know that the people who painted my childhood with the most variegated pastels would leave me so soon? I had no idea then that the promises were kept to be broken just like the false staircase of sand which collapses.We stayed,yet lost somewhere, we exist in smithereens, not so glutinous to be affixed or clung to.Ignorance has towered itself so much compelling the humongous billow of love to be swallowed up by a stupefaction.Excuses come as camouflage for the sentiments of conscience.At this point of time, I want to travel a few steps back,I want to return.Reality certifies such a desire to be impossible,so I have chosen to live in delusion,the world which truly seems gifted with blessed euphoria.The friendship which once seemed like a vast boundless ocean is now superficial.We have always loved each other,we still do but we have just let ourselves to be forgotten in the humdrum and fashion of life.

5 thoughts on “Superficial

      1. It’s a pleasure, I hadn’t realised I wasn’t following you! That’s why I thought why do I never see your posts on the feed and went to check if there was any new updates and figured out. 🤦‍♀️😭

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment